Take Screen Shots Efficiently with Awesome Screenshot

In addition to discussing social media education and trends on this blog, I like to share tech tools and tricks that can help an educator out!

I’m a big proponent of using screenshots to quickly show students (or anyone!) how to do something on the web or a computer.

That’s why I want to share my newest favorite Google Chrome extension, Awesome Screenshot. (Also available for Safari and Firefox). This tool is great for capturing images from the web more quickly than any other tool, including the software on your operating system.

I use this tool to create Instructional Handouts with Multimedia (IMHs) on Google Drive to teach students processes for class assignments and projects. I’ll explain those on the next post!

Here’s the official video on this great tool!

One trick I picked up not shown in their video is that you can copy and paste an image without having to save it as a file or to Diigo, etc. I do this all the time by copying the image and pasting it directly into a Google Document, saving me a few steps and time!

It is really easy. After capturing an image and finishing editing it, advance to the final page where you are asked what you want to do with the file – such as save it to your computer, to Diigo, etc. Simply right-click on the image and select “copy image” (or the appropriate option for your browser).

Hope you enjoy!

Want more of these types of posts? See the “tips tricks and productivity” category (you can see a list of categories on the left). If you like these types of posts, please let me know!

2 thoughts on “Take Screen Shots Efficiently with Awesome Screenshot

Make me smile - leave a comment!

