4 Awesome Things That Have Inspired Me For The Semester Ahead

Before I do my annual practice of posting relevant syllabi to this blog, I want to take a minute to reflect on a few highlights from the last academic year and this summer. These are 4 awesome things that have me excited for the year ahead. And here are my thoughts on how I hope to grow, change, or improve.

I wrote a similar type post in December focusing on my teaching goals for Spring 2014. I liked that process, so I thought I’d try it again with a different twist.

1) An Opportunity to Grow A New Program – The fall 2013 semester was the start of the strategic communication in the Department of Communication at Shepherd University. I’m the coordinator for this concentration and put it into the curriculum during the year prior. I’m excited for what we accomplished in the first year. And I feel that in Spring 2014 we started to make traction. But there is still so much more to do. I want to see the concentration grow and expand and be the best it can be. And that is going to take starting to spread the word more about our program! While I’ve put a lot of my effort into building the program, I know the next few years are going to be instrumental in helping it grow and improve.

2) Awesome Social Media Educators – I’ve met some incredible educators virtually that have taught me so much and inspired me to continue to strive and push myself. As I’ve said before, I believe teaching social media is a different animal than other areas. Things are constantly changing. And these great educators are more than up for the task. Karen Freberg from the University of Louisville writes an amazing blog on social media education filled with tons of tips, ideas, etc. She is a true resource in the field and prolific across her blog and social media. I strongly encourage you to follow her. Carolyn Mae Kim from Biola University is another professor doing awesome things in the realm of social media education. She also has a great blog where she discusses education in a social / digital world that I strongly recommend following. I’ve had the pleasure of working with both of these folks on a recent social media education project. And I finally got to meet them in person at AEJMC a few weeks ago. Having the opportunity to interact with and learn from Karen, Carolyn, and several others, makes me excited for the year ahead because I know there is a growing network of folks out there who are going to continue to push the envelope in social media education. And that motivates me to grow and improve my own classes.

3) Contributing to the Social Media Education Discussion via this Blog – This blog has been great. Meeting the educators mentioned above as well as others I’ve communicated with has re-affirmed what I have set out to do with this blog – to contribute to the convo on social media and try and help others seeking to teach in this area. In addition, I’ve sought to be open and share things I’m experimenting with in a changing field, so that others can learn from my mistakes or improve upon my ideas. I believe is important that those of us teaching in this area are out there sharing our thoughts, our work, our activities, our advice, our trials and errors, and our outright mistakes. I’m so thankful for the praise I’ve gotten on this blog. And I find it most rewarding when I see people checking out the syllabi I post and the classroom assignments and activities. But there is a lot more that I wish I was doing with this blog. So here’s the truth:

This blog has a ways to go.  There were a number of blog posts I intended to write last semester and this summer that I never did – such as a full review of AEJMC and my assignment for conducting surveys with iPads! I was just so busy working on so many exciting and cool project. When I started this blog, my hope was to turn it into a resource on social media education. That includes teaching material: syllabi, class assignments, class activities, slides, etc. But it also includes linking you with great resources and leading educators, and news and articles that can help you in the classroom. I hope that this year I can recommit more time to this blog and to getting those posts up, particularly about what we’re doing in the classroom. Here’s how you can help me: Please leave any comments or feedback on the sort things you like and find helpful on this blog so I can do more of them.

4) New Activities, Assignments, and Partnerships The truth is that I love teaching. I’m excited to be back in the classroom. And I can’t help myself from constantly trying new things and seeking to get better. This year, I’ve made a few changes to my classes. I’m excited to see how they go. I am trying new things, taking new risks, and looking for ways to push myself and my students. I’ll be teaching the Campaigns class for the first time in our department. And we’ve got a great client for our class that I’ll be talking about in an upcoming post. I’ll also be sharing my Social Media syllabus for this fall – which will have an entirely new semester long project. So check back as Fall 2014 gets underway!

I hope everyone has an awesome 2014-2015 academic year!

– Cheers!

-Matt

photo CC Lel4nd

 

Make me smile - leave a comment!

