In Review: The Social Conference Experience at ICBO 2014

2014-09-11 10.51.41

I had an absolutely amazing time at ICBO 2014 in Birmingham, England this past week. I had one of the most rewarding experiences of my career serving as the head of the digital media strategy for the conference. Our ICBO Social app was a tremendous success that far exceeded my expectations. The positive feedback was off the charts!

When we decided to go “all in” on an interactive mobile conference app, I knew it was a tool with a great deal of potential. Since it is its own social network centered around the conference, I believed the tool had unique advantages over relying on dispersed platforms like Twitter and Instagram. But, would people use the social features of the app? OR, rely on what they’re used to – i.e., Twitter. There were several hurdles and questions.

The attendees at ICBO ran the gamut in terms of age and technological familiarity. A good number of them are older. Would an older optometrist who doesn’t use social media in his daily life or for his business use this tool? Would people have no interest in the social features – finding them superfluous, or worse, a distraction from agenda and other information? In short, would people “get it”? And I worked very hard to address these and several other issues in building my plan for this event.

To my delight, the conference attendees and nearly all exhibitors (as well as many speakers) enthusiastically adopted the ICBO Social app. Anecdotal feedback suggests the app served as a great icebreaker, enabled attendees to forge new and more robust connections with one another, and truly enhanced engagement with the speaker sessions and speakers themselves by enabling meta conversations and because we used the app to solicit questions that the speakers responded to during Q&A.

We had an amazing group of attendees – and their energy, friendliness, and passion for their profession played a big role in the success.

Here are the final stats for the 5 and 1/2 days (2 days of pre-conference and 3.5 days of conference).

ICBO soical final stats

  • Total Active Users: 237 (Unfortunately, I don’t have the total # of attendees and exhibitors at this time – ballpark of 300-15)
  • Status Updates: 3,082
  • Photos: 2,363
  • Comments: 1,878
  • Check-Ins to exhibitors and sessions: 890
  • Ratings completed: 1,261
  • Total Points accumulated by all participants: 36,365 (points are earned for in app activities)
  • Total # of badges earned: 706

In the weeks ahead, I look forward to finding the time to sit down and reflect on the event, and write up my report. For now, it is back to my “day job” as a professor. I’m back in West Virginia after a long flight yesterday. It is good to be back but I miss all of the wonderful people I met and amazing experiences I had at ICBO 2014. 🙂

 

Cheers!

Matt

Make me smile - leave a comment!

