Sharing My Social Media Class Fall 2014 Syllabus

Last week I posted our semester long project in Comm 322 Social Media class. Below is my Social Media class syllabi for Fall 2014.

A few quick highlights:

  • New Semester-long Project – Each semester I’ve done something different in terms of a project that spans the entire semester with multiple assignments tied to it. Last year I did niche blogs. This year I’m doing the department social media – please read this post to learn about that project in detail.
  • New books this semester – I’m sticking with a favorite, “Likeable Social Media.” I really enjoy that book and think it explains things in a well organized, simple to understand format. And even though it focuses on Facebook, the lessons span the social media sphere. I’ve dropped the others from last year. And I’ve added “Your Brand: The Next Media Company.” I had a few others in mind, but thought I’d give this a go.
  • A guest speaker in my own class – This seems strange. Let me explain. 🙂 You’ll see on the syllabus that I have myself listed as a guest speaker. Because I’m doing the ICBO Social campaign for the Optometric Extension Program Foundation, I thought this was an amazing opportunity to come in not as the professor but as a guest speaker and present to my students the plan I put together and discuss its execution, and challenges we faced. I also plan to have an external guest speaker too. Have any recommendations? Tweet them my way!

One cool “professor nerd” thing I’d like to point out. You’ll notice icons in the schedule. This is something I’ve started using in recent semester in various classes to highlight important things on the schedule to students. So days where students are presenting will jump out at them, as indicated by the presentation icon. 🙂 I’ve found this to be really helpful!

You can see previous social media syllabi via the menu on the left. Mouse over “syllabi.” If you’d like to see how I changed my social media class last year and what I had planned for Fall 2013, see this post: “What’s Changing? Plans for My Fall 2013 class“.

-Cheers!

Matt

One thought on “Sharing My Social Media Class Fall 2014 Syllabus

  1. Pingback: A Look at My Social Media Content Strategy Assignment | Social Media Syllabus

Make me smile - leave a comment!

